fostering a world where everone WINs
home this just in

The WIN Awards

media about news contact

Investing in women is a uniquely powerful way to strengthen communities and economies. Gender equity fuels thriving economies; it helps women and their families, expands local economies, spurs economic growth, and widens the talent pool.

There is no other organization like Women's Image Network, (WIN), a charity which since 1993 has collaborated with advertising agencies, fortune 100 and 500 companies and television networks and movie studios, to create The WIN Awards which honor deserving media and individuals in film, television, advertising, politics and business who promote gender parity through their creativity and leadership.
  • Women represent 53% of the world's population and make 85% of the purchasing decisions, yet according to the UN Development Fund for Women, women perform 66% of work globally and produce a full half of food globally, but women earn 10% of what men earn and own 1% of global property.
  • Just nine women lead countries, of the 190 worldwide heads of state.
  • Women make up 13% of all worldwide Parliaments.
  • In the corporate world women measure 15% of all workers ranging from C-level jobs to corporate board members.
  • Women's Image Network fosters media that increases the value of women and girls.

According to the The Huffington Post 86% of films have no female writers and 77% of film critics are male. This makes the movie industry highly imbalanced.

About Women's Image Network (WIN)
& The WIN Awards

WIN works in concert with research, media advocacy and program implementation to promote gender parity. By celebrating dimensional female media images at The WIN Awards, WIN advances its mission to see women attain social and economic equality.

The WIN Awards (the women's image awards) are an international juried awards show that encourages men and women to create dimensional female media images. By drawing attention and viewers to witness important and entertaining media, we encourage people to value, respect and honor women and girls.

The WIN Awards show is a one of a kind international media event which gathers film and television writers, producers, directors, actors and others. In addition to honoring illustrious individuals whose work promotes gender parity, The WIN Awards also celebrate dozens of nominated films, shows, directors, writers, actors and producers whose work has been submitted to its jury and which has been nominated in 15 categories.

The WIN Awards celebrate both men and women in the media who promote gender parity through both their creativity and leadership. According to WIN founder, actress and producer, Phyllis Stuart, “We produce The WIN Awards so that women and girls will achieve social and economic parity. The media is a most potent tool to advance gender parity. Because if women and girls are portrayed well in the media, girls and women everywhere may one day be well-treated".

While historically The WIN Awards were presented only to invited individuals, in 2002 television broadcasters and film studios began submitting their outstanding work to The WIN Awards be adjudicated on a competitive basis by an illustrious and professional entertainment industry jury. Today, The WIN Awards show has grown into an international juried show with work evaluated based on both artistic excellence and on its ability to forward WIN’s mission: “To Foster a World Where Everyone WINs®

The WIN Awards have previously been chaired by Susan Sarandon, Jane Fonda and Martha Luttrell. A few former WIN Award recipients include: Dame Elizabeth Taylor, Senator Barbara Boxer, Lily Tomlin, Helen Mirren, Elizabeth Guider, Ralph Fiennes, Lauren Bacall, Jane Campion, Cloris Leachman, Lynn Redgrave, Pierce Brosnan, Laura Ziskin, Angelina Jolie, Lauren Shuler Donner, Suzanne Roberts, Diane Ladd, Catherine Hardwicke, Weiden + Kennedy, Linda Wolf, President, Leo Burnett), NIKE, DOVE (Unilever), Ed Harris, Christine Lahti and Gurinder Chadha, among others.

Former hosts, participants and presenters include: Hugh Jackman, Alfred Molina, Brian Roberts, Ralph Roberts, Meryl Streep, Jane Lynch, Carl Reiner, Mary McDonnell, Bruce Vilanch, Melissa Peterman, Rachel Weisz, Mickey Rooney, Emily Mortimer, Seth Rogen, Selena Gomez, Cheryl Hines, Sasha Alexander, Claire Danes, Sam Neill, Harry Shearer, Kathy Griffin, Raven-Symoné, David O. Russell, Robert Redford, Paula Poundstone, Sara Rue, Keith David, and Timothy Bottoms, among others.

In addition to producing The WIN Awards show WIN founder, Phyllis Stuart, also created and produced the Primetime ABC Special FIFTY YEARS OF FUNNY FEMALES with John Ritter, Debbie Allen and Annie Potts.

For four years, WIN also produced The WINFemme Film Festival which showcased independent films made by men and women which featured female protagonists. WIN has previously produced dozens of seminars and networking opportunities for both emerging and established entertainment industry professionals. The WIN Awards

About Light Productions / Women's Image Network

According to WIN founder, Phyllis Stuart, “The Women's Image Awards exist because "To the extent that women's voices remain silent, we are all robbed of their contribution".

Since 1993 this charity has leveled the playing field for women and girls. Gender equality and women's empowerment are fundemental to our global mission which is also an economic and social imperative. Until women and girls are liberated from poverty and injustice, peace, security, and sustainable development are in jeopardy.

green line
Women's Image Network
310 229-5365
Twitter TheWINAwards@TheWINAwards
Donate for Good
Please contribute to
Women's Image Network
through Light Productions, Inc.
green line
©1993-2013 Light-Productions, Inc. / Women's Image Network. All Rights Reserved
webmaster Reseda Mickey